Things I Learned from “The Selection Series”

It’s always a good thing when you read. And it’s always a good thing as well to find something special in the book you read. And that “something” is what I want to share to you now.

I just finished reading the “The Selection Series” by Kiera Cass. It’s a very good book. It’s kind of like the modern version of Cinderella but not really. It’s a fairytale yet not exactly. I’ve enjoyed it a lot and I know that you will too if you’re into romance. Well to be honest, I enjoy everything about romance (I’m embarrassed to admit that but it’s just that way it is).

Here’s a short summary:

America Singer is a commoner, a singer (literally), and a very beautiful lady. She signs up for the ‘Selection’, a program where beautiful ladies of Illea are chosen to marry the prince. That’s where Prince Maxon Schreave enters. She doesn’t like to enter the Selection but due to her mother’s adamant request, and her secret boyfriends’ egoistic wish, she entered.

Long story short, America was chosen as one of the thirty-five beautiful and refined ladies to compete. But America is the opposite of everyone in the competition, she’s not sophisticated. She doesn’t like the prince because she loves someone else. But she doesn’t dislike him entirely. Nevertheless, after all her shortcomings, the prince finds her extraordinary and was fascinated by her. And soon enough, they started thinking about each other. (Figure it out).

Note: That’s all I can give to you right now because I don’t want to spoil you too much. But I guarantee you that it will be a great read. I will bet my “The Da Vinci Code” book to that. HAHAHA (Da Vinci is one of my favorites, fyi).

But here’s why I like this book: it’s more than just a fairy tale. In other fairy tales, where there are princes and princesses, love always blooms between the prince and his princess. It’s a common end and a common plot. It always revolves around the princess and prince finding each other and some fairy-godparents or dwarf friends helping them, plus some evil witches that hinders them. And that’s where ‘The Selection’ differs. It’s all about the political system of a monarchy (something that I find very interesting). It’s more on how a royal family rules over its citizens, how their lives work, and how they find true love considering all kinds of difficult circumstances (rules and other decorum). Side note: I actually watched every movie with the same concept as the book just to quench my thirst for more details.

But more than that, I love how this book started and ended. I didn’t feel kind of left out or something that resembles being teased by something that will never happen. Kiera Cass gave me everything I need, from the kind of love that is enduring up to the kind of family that is happy and complete. She somehow gave me the life I want, to imagine the happiness. And I feel it all the same. She lets me find something to look up to, something to hold on to. Yes, my life is not close enough to a fairytale or to any luxurious life but I kind of feel I am when I finished reading the entire series (from the “The Selection” up to “The Crown”).

Above all, the book teaches me things like understanding the people around me. Understanding how they think, how they differ in opinions, and how to address those different opinions.

If you happen to read this series, you may say that I’m being too deep or over-acting, which sometimes I think I am. I tend to dig deeper on every thoughts that Kiera put on her paragraphs. I tend to over-analyse her every words and apply it to my current life. That’s me. But maybe you’ll see it in a different spectrum if you read it. Maybe you’ll see other things I didn’t. Maybe you’ll take everything differently. It’s always up to you.

Eikko Koskinen: Sometimes people see the dandelion as a pesky weed but others see it as a flower. It’s perspective.

Here are the things I learned from this series that I want to share to you:

  1. When you’re facing family problems

Eadlyn Shreave: I kept thinking that I couldn’t live my life for other people, that love was nothing but chains. And maybe it was, but so help me, I needed these chains. I let myself feel the weight of Ahren leaving, the weight of my father’s worry, and most important, the weight of my mother’s life hanging in the balance. These things didn’t make me weaker; they held my soul to the earth. I wasn’t going to run from them anymore.

Lesson: Let your love for your family bigger than your problems.

  1. When you’re having doubts about finding your soul mate

Maxon Schreave: I’m not sure if fate or destiny is real. But I can tell you that sometimes the very thing you’ve been hoping for will walk through the door, determined to fend you off. And still, somehow, you will find that you are enough.

Lesson: Don’t rush. Take it slow. Everything will come at the right time.

  1. When you’re so in love you couldn’t think wiser

Shalom Singer: But you should know that love can wear away under the stress of being married. Someone you think you love now, you might start to hate when he couldn’t provide for you. And if you couldn’t take care of your children, it’d be even worse. Love doesn’t always survive under those types of circumstances.

Lesson: Don’t rush into marriage. Get to know the person first and know your capacity.

One thought on “Things I Learned from “The Selection Series”

  1. airenpetalbert says:

    Masyado mo namang ginalingan sa paghugot sa mga sumusunod hahahaha:

    Let your love for your family bigger than your problems.
    Don’t rush. Take it slow. Everything will come at the right time.
    Don’t rush into marriage. Get to know the person first and know your capacity.

    BOOM HAHA

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

